Interview

January 20, 2009

I know these interviews have been popping up on various blogs.  Since the format asks five questions and my dear friend Carmen was kind enough to send me five good ones, I thought I would give it a try.  Here are the rules if you want to participate.

1. If you want to participate, leave me a comment saying, “Interview me.”
2. I will respond by emailing you five questions. I get to pick the questions.
3. You will update your blog with the answers to the questions.
4. You will include this explanation and an offer to interview someone else in the same post.
5. When others comment asking to be interviewed, you will ask them five questions.

Here goes:

1) What made you start a blog?

I worked with a number of people who were all writing really neat blogs.  Every once in a while when my friend Mike and I were together and I was going on and on about something he would say “Dude”  (because that is the very mature way we talk to each other) “You have GOT to start a blog”.  I am a huge list maker so the idea of writing in strictly a list format seemed appealing and I gave it a shot.  I think I might do it for a year or so and then maybe move on to something else.  I’m not sure.

2) If you were in a deserted island and could only bring one person with you, who would that be? (you can pick someone you do or do not know)

Wait.   How do I know the person I would be pick would want to spend their life on a deserted island with me?  Can you imagine?  One minute you are going about your daily life and then BAM you are zapped to a deserted island because someone picks you as their ONE person on a blog interview.  That’s a bad day…

3) If you were only allowed to read ONE more book before you died, which book would you pick?

Tough one.   I would probably pick “From the Mixed up Files of Mr. Basil E Frankweiler”  It is s children’s book about a brother and sister who run away from home and live at the metropolitan museum of art.  It is the first book I remember reading and being completely taken with the story and the characters.  Not only did it start my love affair with the written word, I truly believe it is the reason I pursued the museum field as a profession.

4) If you could go back in time and re-do something in your life, what would that be?

Unfortunately, this is an easy one.  In the winter of 2004 a good family friend was killed in Iraq. I had just been given my first major promotion at a new job and the week of the funeral I had a series of meetings scheduled with my Vice President and some board members and I did not go.  I told myself that the funeral would be packed, the family would not even know I was there and I did not need a religious service to pay my respects.  The truth was, I choose work over doing the right thing and being with the people I love.  I have never forgiven myself for making that cowardly decision and every time I see his brother my heart aches for knowing that I was not there on a  day he needed the people he loved the most.  It  was a heard lesson but I know I will never, ever, make the same mistake again.

5) What would you tell your 10 year old self if you saw her sitting in front of you right now?

That it will get better.  That some days it will feel like it has gotten so much worse but, through the heartache and the heart break and the worry it will get so much better.  Oh yeah and to STOP grinding your teeth, because some day you will be paying for your own dental work and new teeth are not cheap.

17 Responses to “Interview”


  1. love your answers!

    Love your questions!

  2. Mike Says:

    Ok, dare I say it….interview me. As only you can.

    If it’s noon…..

  3. Erin Says:

    From the Mixed up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler – LOVE IT!!!! On my bookshelf now and I, too, have the same recollection of it being one of the first books I read and LOVED.

    Are you sure we weren’t separated at birth?

    If we were, you SO got the good hair.

  4. Erin Says:

    Oh yeah, and interview me. 😉

    Will do!

  5. Molly Says:

    I LOVE that book. Left you a voicemail…also, link to new blog?

    It is a great book.

  6. apollocreed Says:

    But who would you pick??? You have to answer that one. Dude.

    Dude….

  7. elizabeth Says:

    Bring it woman! Interview me!
    (am so in need of some writing motivation)

    I’ll tell my 10-year old self to stop grinding too!

    It is a terrible habit!

  8. Beth Says:

    uhm LOVE that book too.

    And I’m with Chris– you MUST answer the desert island question, even if you pick a joke answer like I did.

    Wow, you are all really interested to know who I would want to spend my life with on a desert island.

  9. Jennie Says:

    Your answers are so clever! I’m sad there were only five questions, because you are so interesting.

    I loved that book as a child, too. Really, all my favorite books are children and young adult books. Not sure what that says about me. : )

    Young adult books are the best; Phantom Tollbooth is another one of my favorites.

  10. f.B Says:

    I’ll take the Happy Meal, with a Sprite and an interview, please.

  11. Matt Says:

    Yes. We ALL need you to answer this question…

    eventhough we all know it would be D, obviously.


  12. […] people in general, shout out!, tagged My dear friend Sara posted a recent interview over at If I Had to Pick Five and I asked her to interview me – I’m in need of inspiration!  Here are the five questions […]


  13. Love the interview!! Will you interview me??


  14. […] think Sara started it, then Elizabeth,  Erin, Carrie and even Mike, were interviewed.  So how does it […]


  15. […] think Sara started it, then Elizabeth,  Erin, Carrie and even Mike, were interviewed.  So how does it […]


  16. […] you want! Second Interview January 28, 2009 Interviewed again!  Wahoo! I love it!  Sara totally made me think…. I hope you enjoy my second set of questions!  Again I am willing to […]


  17. I loved that book too. My husband just spent like 6 hours on the internet trying to find his favorite childhood book, which he could only remember one line from. He found it on eBay and I made him buy it because he was so fixated on it that he disrupted our life for 6 hours.

    Please interview me, I haven’t blogged since New Years Day!

Leave a comment