Who needs kindergarten when you have a week with a 4 year old

June 29, 2009

Yesterday, I returned home from a week long family vacation at the Jersey Shore.  The weather was touch-and-go, but it was great to spend time with all of my nieces and nephews as well as my gaggle of in-laws.  As I have said before, I try not to talk too much about my family on this blog.  It feels like this is my space, not theirs, and I should respect their privacy.  But, this past week I was so moved by one of my nieces I really wanted to share it with all of you.  K, who is 4 was born with spina bifida.  Here are five things I learned from her this week.

1) The things you can accomplish when you set your mind to it are astounding.  Strangers will watch you in awe and wonder where you found your determination.

2) Failure is a stepping stone to success.  You will tread on many falls, mistakes and attempts before you reach victory.

3) There is nothing wrong with being 4 seconds slower, when you are 5 seconds smarter.

4) We are only as different as we believe ourselves to be.

5) When the perseverance becomes tiring, when the failures seem unduly greater than the successes, when you are tired of being smart and different…it is more than ok to cry and take a nap.  Things always seem better after a nap.

9 Responses to “Who needs kindergarten when you have a week with a 4 year old”


  1. awww this is so sweet and true.

    I learned from the best of the best.

  2. f.B Says:

    Your timing with this is impeccable.

    I’m glad. Normally my timing is terrible.

  3. Matt Says:

    Thus the reason why I nap frequently!

    I am also a huge believer in self imposed time outs.

  4. LiLu Says:

    It took me 25 years to learn the value of a nap. 5 seconds smarter, that one, indeed. 🙂

    naps are almost better than being 5 seconds smarter

  5. Liebchen Says:

    It’s amazing how much we can learn from kids. That’s part of why I love babysitting so much.

    yes, then they get big and turn into adults. ick.


  6. The wisdom of children never ceases to amaze me. Usually when I’m done crying and taking my nap, I find that opening champagne further aids the goal.

    I find that the soft pop of opening champagne helps with just about anything.

  7. Erin Says:

    Love this. Thank you for giving me the inspiration I oh-so-needed today.

    my pleasure my dear

  8. JoLee Says:

    Learning from children is the best kind of knowledge. Another wonderful post from you.

    Thank you, and I could not agree more.

  9. elizabeth Says:

    Number 3 is my favorite.

    And… really???? She is already FOUR????? I remember the day she was born!!

Leave a Reply

