Cryin’s not for me, ‘Cause I’m never gonna stop the rain by complainin’

April 17, 2009

The other day, FB over at The Change I wish to See had a wonderful post about the sweeping feeling of depression that is crashing over people.  As usual, his words stuck with me and for the rest of the week I thought about ways to make myself and the people around me feel better…if only for a minute.  I have come up with this 5 suggestions for putting a smile on your, or someone elses face.

1) Smile at people- smile at friends, smile at strangers, smile at the girl who is collecting your money for the 18th parking ticket you have receivedthis month.  It is not her fault the meter maids are pissed about layoffs and are taking it out on parkers everywhere and I grantee you…giving her the look of death will not make anyone feel better.  Smiling is contagious.  It is why we coo at babies, to teach them to me happy.

2) Bring donuts to work- I wanted to try to make these suggestions free (because lets face it, the economy is in the shitter and we are all worried about money) but for the few dollars it costs to bring in some deep friend carbohydrates and powered sugar…I promise you will see a return on your investment.

3)Open the door for people- personally, I think nothing is sexier than a man who opens doors for a woman, and a woman who smiles and walks right trough.  But, anyone can open a door.  Open it for a kid, hold it for a stranger, linger when you see someone elderly on the curb.  The smile and thank you is well worth your 17 seconds. 

4) Make faces at children in passing cars- yesterday, while on the way home from a long day at work and a 2 hour committee meeting I sat in traffic hungry, tired and a little cranky.  I looked to my left and there was a little boy in the back seat making a silly face at me while his sister watched eagerly to see my reaction.  With out thinking I stuck out my tongue and wiggled my hands behind my ears.  They looked at each other and died laughing, rolling around the back seat with glee.  I laughed and smiled and suddenly, I was not so hungry, so tired or so irritated anymore.

5) Look at the sunrise, the sunset, the ocean or a rainbow- regardless of what we pay in taxes, how much our in-come is shrinking in relation to our out-go or how expensive life seems to be…the wonders of nature are free and they are glorious. 

Happy Friday!

9 Responses to “Cryin’s not for me, ‘Cause I’m never gonna stop the rain by complainin’”

  1. Matt Says:

    Except for when you open the door for someone and they dont thank you.

    Then you trip and kick them when they are down. (I kid)

  2. Matt Says:

    Sorry. Im trying to be more positive… I blame it on the snow.

    No need to be more positive here…I’ll just stick my tongue out at you. Because I am mature.

  3. Liebchen Says:

    I LOVE #4 and #5. I play peekaboo…which doesn’t work out so well when I’m driving.

    Good point. Note to self: no peekaboo behind the wheel


  4. you’re so right. Thanks for that, it’s so true.

    Anytime.

  5. JoLee Says:

    I love simple pleasures in life.

    Oh, and no.4? Yeah, I do it to ADULTS all.the.time. Especially when they have cut me off or something equally rude. I pull up beside them and instead of flipping them off, I usually stick out my tongue and wave.

    I LOVE this idea! Rather than flick someone off…just stick out your tongue.

  6. Allison @ FaceTime! Says:

    What about going to bars in Providence while wearing fake mustaches? That should be added to the list.

    Loved this post though, I needed a smile today 🙂

    I love kids that think I’m cute and funny and want to punch little kids that don’t!

    I think you are cute and funny. Does that count?

  7. f.B Says:

    I always do #4. Actually, they don’t even have to be in cars; more like whenever one of them makes faces at me. It’s so much more fun to act *their* age than ours.

    Yes, life is way more fun when you are 8.


  8. Thanks! this made me smile!! Miss ya!

  9. Catherine Says:

    I totally do the same thing as JoLee! I stick out my tongue when someone cuts me off, and it usually ends up making me laugh. And probably making the offender laugh if they see it, too. Great tactic! Especially in Boston…

Leave a Reply

