A life worth living…

April 13, 2009

Five signs you have lived a good life….

1) There is no parking at your wake.  Cars fill the lot, litter the street and swell into vacant  lots nearby.

2) The guest book has been filled two hours into the wake.  The funeral home scrambles to find more pages or another book.

3) Your mass cards have photographs of the natural world you loved on the front and a quote by Dr Seuss on the back.

4) The seats for your funeral are full 20 minutes before the service is scheduled to begin.  Ten minutes before a line forms at the door and by the time the service starts, bodies are pressed against walls, filling corridors and oozing out onto the street.

5) The sound of soft sobs, delicate sniffles and purses being rummaged for tissues provides a soothing back drop to the eulogy your daughters gave you.  People cry for you, for your children and for a sense of loss they can not quite put into words. 

For A&A, my deepest sympathies for the loss of your mother.  She most certainly led a life that was well worth living. 

“Don’t cry because it is over, Smile because it happened” Dr. Seuss.

10 Responses to “A life worth living…”

  1. phampants Says:

    That’s my greatest fear in life; no one would show up to my funeral

    I am sure you would be surprised. We touch people in ways we never know.

  2. JoLee Says:

    beautiful, dear, simply beautiful.

    Thank you

  3. Matt Says:

    Who knew Dr Suess could be so deep? I didnt.

    You mean ‘Hop on Pop’ did not change your life?


  4. I’m so sorry.

    Thank you

  5. LiLu Says:

    @Matt I did. Come on now, you’ve read The Lorax. That shiz made my cry.

    This post almost did, too. Absolutely beautiful, fiver.

    How about “The Places You’ll Go”? That book always makes tear up.


  6. Show me the friends and I’ll show you the person; show me the child and you can see the parent. You are another sign of the good life lived.

    I will be keeping a good thought for both you and your friend.

    Thank you. Your words are very kind.

  7. Elizabeth Says:

    beautifully written, Sara

    Thank you dear, that means a lot coming from an actual writer.

  8. Erin Says:

    Beautiful.

    Thank you

  9. f.B Says:

    Despite what all the world seems to say about each person’s isolation and how everyone has to be for his or herself, I so deeply appreciate that this entire list is about how one person can touch the lives of others. I’m sorry that you had reason to write it, but I also agree with Dr. Seuss.

    Do you read Chuck Klosterman? He has this great theory on how everything and every one are either intimately connected or exist in total isolation. I have to believe in the former. The latter just seems way too sad.

  10. Mike Says:

    So, seriously. I come back to you and this is the first thing I find? Proud of you.

Leave a Reply

