I believe…

February 12, 2009

A few weeks ago  F.B. over at The Change I Wish to See gave me an Honest Scrap Award and like a total flake I have neglected to pass it on.  I am supposed to tell you 10 honest things about me and the pass it along to 10 other bloggers.  I will stick with the ten things about me (consider it 2 lists of 5) and pick five other bloggers who I think have written about some really honest stuff. 

-I believe in second chances, Lord knows I have needed enough of them.

-I believe that there is a difference between yams and sweet potatoes and I believe I can tell the difference.

-I believe in public radio.

-I believe that coffee should be consumed hot, strong and black.

-I believe that when it comes to family, I hit the in-law jack pot.

-I believe that the people you spend time with say a lot about who you are.  For this reason I avoid; hypocrites, homophobes, racists, bigots, antisemites and anyone who feels they need to put others down to make themselves feel or sound better.  It is not that I don’t believe some of these people can be nice or interesting, I just don’t ever want to pick those traits up.

-I believe apologies should only be issued if they are sincere.

-I believe in dictionaries.  I have a 1972 Websters open on my desk every day and keep a pocket one in my purse.

-I believe that gays and lesbians should have 100% equality when it comes to marriage.  Not because I am on some sort of gay crusade (although I think if a crusade like this came up, Joan of Arc would be all over it) but because I believe when our forefathers painstaking crafted our Declaration of Independence and the Constitution that followed it they took the time to specify the separation of church and state.  I believe they meant it.

-I believe that the best way to read the Sunday Times is in bed with a cup of coffee or a bloody mary.

If you want to read some other honest stuff check out these bloggers

Bethis– Beth’s accounts of daily life, friendship and relationships are not only hilarious they are spot on.  She is also one of the few people I know willing to post a picture of herself wearing leopard, pleather and boots all at the same time.

La Petite Belle– Carmen has some of the most sincere accounts of marriage and motherhood I have read. She is willing to share the good, the bad and the very funny.

These Little Moments – My dear friend Molly has been bold enough to talk to her readers about the ups and downs of recent unemployment.

Restaurant Refugee– Refugee recently posted about the challenges of remaining anonymous on a blog people love to talk about.

I Got Nothing – Mikes posts about the loss of his brother and his father are loving tributes to their life and the people they have left behind.

12 Responses to “I believe…”

  1. Matt Says:

    I am with you when it comes to the coffee.

    but a 1972 dictionary?

    S-train, I doubt any of those words are even used anymore.

    So you don’t use words like ‘hilum’ twice a day? Because you should.

  2. Liebchen Says:

    I totally believe in second chances. And third. And fourth.

    I have gotten into some big trouble by giving third and fourth….but I still think I would give them again.

  3. Erin Says:

    I’ve always wondered about the yams/sweet potato relation.

    Great post, as always.

    According to my research (ok, I googled it) yams are tubers of tropical vines and are not even distantly related to the sweet potato. Personally, I find yams more fibrous on the tongue and sweet potatoes more creamy.

  4. f.B Says:

    i, too, believe in only surrounding yourself with wonderful people. bad-human traits are contagious.

    I could not agree more.

  5. LiLu Says:

    Second chances were made to be given. I’m a believer, as well. It’s thirds I’m not huge on…

    It seems like the third chance is always the one that bites you in the butt. Or at least that has been my experience.

  6. apollocreed Says:

    I don’t know, public radio is pretty terrible. Wait, is ESPN public? Okay. I don’t even know what public radio means.

    Public radio is anything with no commercials and constant pledge drives.


  7. awwwwww you picked me? And yet I feel like I’m so full of $#@! most of the time. hehe

    You are only full of $#@! half of the time, the rest of the time you are honest and hilarious.

  8. Molly Says:

    I believe that a true friend is one that you can pick back up with immediately, even if you haven’t seen each other in awhile. On that note, we miss you guys.

    We miss you guys too…


  9. We are all judged by the company we keep – as well we should be. I think that the worst part about intolerance is that it is so commonly tolerated.

    Oh, and the fact that you use an old dictionary and have a well worn library card are terribly endearing.

    very well said.

  10. apollocreed Says:

    So I was right – it basically sucks.

  11. Beth Says:

    YAYYY I WIN A PRIZE!!!!!

    OK, I never do these things but thank you! I guess it does take some guts to post that picture of Diane Beaver, but I must entertain the masses.

  12. Mike Says:

    I believe I’m lame for just getting here now. Especially since I’ve been honored. I also believe you are the best work wife I’ve ever had.

Leave a Reply

