Food Friday: Cherry-Coconut Snowballs

January 23, 2009

I know it has been a few weeks since I have posted a five ingredient recipe but I have not forgotten about them.    I made these a few weeks ago for a dinner party at a friends house and they were a big hit.  They seem to go with all the snow we have been having this winter. 

dessert

1 package chocolate covered cherries

1 pt vanilla ice cream

1 cup sweetened flaked coconut, toasted as pkg directs and cooled

1 cup semisweet chocolate

3/4 cup heavy or whipping cream

Place chocolate-covered cherries about 5 in apart on a baking sheet lined with non-stick foil or wax paper; freeze 10 minutes.  Remove ice cream from freezer to soften slightly.

Press a scoop of ice cream over each cherry.  Return to freezer for 20 minutes.

Put coconut in a medium bowl. Remove ice cream from baking sheet and roll in coconut, pressing coconut against balls.  Freeze balls on lined sheet 30 minutes.

Place semisweet chocolate in a saucepan over low heat until melted, stirring continuously.   Add cream and stir to combine.

Remove balls from freezer and drizzle with chocolate sauce or serve on the side.

6 Responses to “Food Friday: Cherry-Coconut Snowballs”

  1. Matt Says:

    Im never going to be the type of person who buys square plates, like the one in the picture.

    I know they are supposed to be fancy and all…but its really weird eating off a plate that isnt round.

  2. Molly Says:

    If I didn’t love you, I’d hate you right now. Mmmm.

  3. Erin Says:

    Yeah, give me the toasted coconut/vanilla ice cream combo and I’m your gal forever.


  4. You lost me at coconut, but still love the way you write.

  5. f.B Says:

    As I get ready to tackle the questions you sent me, I can’t help but wonder why one of them wasn’t “Where can I send you some Cherry-Coconut Snowballs?”

    I really like coconut.

  6. adorablybitter Says:

    Damn, I am in love with your recipes!
    Now all I have to do is think of an occasion to serve something like that and get the courage to take on the challenge.

Leave a Reply

