Please ‘splain…

January 8, 2009

Can someone please explain to me…

1) Why a hospital bothers making my appointment for 7:45 am if they have no intention of seeing me until after 9:00.

2) Why they insist on playing elevator music in the waiting room.  Everyone knows that the reason they get away with playing elevator music in elevators is because you only have to listen to it for 3 minutes.  Over an hour of hearing these tunes while to watching the clock tick by 78 times could prompt someone into a murderous rage.

3) Why the exam rooms are set at a balmy 57 degrees.  For what I pay my insurance to pay them (and then what I pay out of pocket myself), you would think they could afford to turn the thermostat up a few degrees.  In case they have not noticed, those johnny’s are not designed for warmth.

4) Why the gurneys are always set directly under the spot lights.  “Just sit back and relax”, she says. Well, I will do my best but with the spot light in my eyes and the temperatureset to ‘frozen tundera’, it is not all that relaxing of an experience.  How about a warm blanket and the sounds of the shore?  A soothing lavender candle maybe? 

5) Why the radiologist can not find the decency to come into the room to talk to me.  I have waited over an hour listening to horrible music while freezing my butt off under an interrogation lamp and you can’t find 45 seconds in your horribly busy day to come in and say “things look ok, we will see you in 6 months”.  I hope you are a patient some day, really…I do.

12 Responses to “Please ‘splain…”

  1. Matt Says:

    If you had an iphone you wouldn’t be bored anymore.

    *hint*

    28 hours and counting…

  2. f.B Says:

    Don’t hope they’re a patient one day. Make them one. Or hire someone who does that kind of stuff

    How much do you think ‘someone who does that kind of stuff’ goes for? Do you think they get paid by the hour or per the job…just wondering, no reason.

  3. Liebchen Says:

    Oooh, f.B, do you know someone like that? Wanna pass along a name?

    “the pressure of a name”


  4. Not that it will make you any more comfortable on your next visit, but I can answer the question about the temperature. Lowering the thermostat helps prevent the spreading of germs and other things communicable.

    That actually makes a lot of sense and I am totally willing to freeze if it means I am not going to catch some nasty super bug.

  5. Erin Says:

    Hospitals suck.

    My heart goes out to you and Mike today.

    Thanks sweetie. I am thinking of Mike today too. Let me know when you hear something.

  6. fritz Says:

    ahh yes, the interrogation lights! but yay to everything ok!!!

    Yes, and yay to me getting 6 months of freedom before my next appointment!

  7. f.B Says:

    i think it’s gotta be by the job. because movies are always true, and i’ve seen it in movies, a bunch of times.

    And I confirmed it but looking it up on line so we know it is fact.

  8. f.B Says:

    oh, and i’ll let Liebchen know that i’m from North Jersey (honest to goodness Sopranos county country). so yes, actually, i do.

    I love this! My post about stupid hospitals has turned into an honest-to-goodness information session about hiring a hit man.


  9. sounds horrible. I don’t understand it, doctors are so expensive and their customer service skills suck.

  10. atozpod Says:

    Sounds like someone needs an iPod. I’ve heard they’re good for all sorts of occasions. Congrats on the 6 more months of freedom, that’s the best part of this post (not that your points aren’t strong.)

  11. Anna Says:

    Does this mean you have an iPod by now? Hope all is well with you!

  12. Anna Says:

    Whoops, meant to say iPHONE.

Leave a Reply

