Getting Personal….I guess

January 5, 2009

Last weekend I had lunch with the fabulous La Petite Belle and while we were catching up on odds and ends, she mentioned that I don’t include a lot of personal details in my blog.  I don’t know that this is something I do intentionally, mostly I don’t think my life is very interesting or that anyone cares that much about what is going on.  My blog tends to focus on observations, interactions and things that can be tied up in a list format.  But, to update you on a few things, here are five personal details about my life right now.

1) D and I closed on that house on Dec 29th.  Although the house is going to be a ton of work we are extremely excited.  It was built at the turn of the century (19th, not 20th) and has some wonderfully charming details. 

2) To chronicle our progress on house work I am starting another blog.  This one is mostly for our friends and family but I am happy to share the link with any of my usual readers who may be interested.  Please send me an e-mail at: ifihadtopickfive@live.com if you want it.

3) For thous of you who read this blog entry, and are wondering about the status of my health or have sent e-mails inquiring, thank you for your thoughts and concern.  I have been following up with my appointments and test reguarly (even though I think I outlined five perfectly good reasons why I did not want to) and so far, everything looks good.  I will do my best to keep you updated. 

4) I am thinking of getting an iphone…actually I think I am getting an i phone.  I self identify as being completely inept with new technology so this is as surprising to me as it is to you.  But as you may remember, my phone is shot and after consulting some friends who have an iphone and love it, I thought I would take the plunge.  A special thanks to this blogger for being a part of my iphone focus group and answering 47 ridiculous questions and 18 ludicrous ones. 

5) My birthday is rapidly approaching….and I hate my birthday.  It is not that I am all bent out of shape about my age; it has been a wonderful year and numbers don’t generally stress me out.  I just don’t really have great birthdays….or at least the bad ones seem to out weigh the really good ones.

12 Responses to “Getting Personal….I guess”

  1. Matt Says:

    I’m telling you…you’ll love the iphone.

    I am counting down the hours.

  2. apollocreed Says:

    I’m with Matt – you’ll love it. I can answer questions about it too – but only ludicrous ones.

    I think I have about 3 ludicrous ones left then I move on the the assinine ones.

  3. Erin Says:

    Ahem. Our birthday ROCKS. No two ways about it.

    (But I’m secretly dreading it, too.)

    Sharing the day with you is about the only part of my birthday I love. Shall we drink together?

  4. Liebchen Says:

    There’s a tiny part of me that wants the iPhone, too. But I think I’d get too frustrated. For now I’ve contented myself with playing the games on my friends’ phones.

    Watch out…the tiny part grows.


  5. what is that non-sense about not looking forward to your birthday? Now that is just silly. You need to be a princess on your birthday. Trust me, on mine, I make it known that I carry an invisible tiara.

    Oh and YAY on the iPhone. I want one, but I just got my BBerry last year.

    Maybe that is where I have gone wrong all these years, I need an invisible tiara.

  6. Jennie Says:

    What day is your birthday? I freaking LOVE birthdays. I make mine stretch out over the whole month – my husband is so over my birthday by the time it even arrives. Congrats, homeowner!!!

    Thank you!

  7. f.B Says:

    3) i hadn’t read that entry. we went through hell when my mom was diagnosed with breast cancer. i can’t imagine what it would’ve been like if the health insurance folks behaved like pure evil

    4) you only asked 65 questions? well, being an, *ahem ahem*, iphowner (aww man is that bad!) i know the iPhone had like 100 awesome answers

    5) birthdays are better when they’re someone else’s. and because of that, as a distant observer, i can’t in good conscious support you ignoring your own. i will also never take my own advice on this

    You are so going to regret telling me that, now after I ask Apollo the remainder of the ludicrous questions and the asinine ones, the really dumb, dumb questions are going to go to you.

    BTW- really glad to hear your mom is doing well…I was worried.


  8. just had lots of fun catching up, happy new year!

    Happy New Year to you too!

  9. apollocreed Says:

    Assinine is even better.

  10. Mike Says:

    i will never forget last year when you and erin figured out your birthdays were same day. that was too weird.


  11. […] 13, 2009 As aforementioned, I have been in the market for an iPhone.  After thinking it over and hearing nothing but great […]


  12. are you keeping up with the other blog of the house? i would love to read it!! hope you are well!

Leave a Reply

