Oh really? Thats great.

December 10, 2008

I have a great boss.  Really, I do.  He knows a ton about what he is doing and is very well respected in the field. I know that working for him will make me a million times better at my job.  However.  If he comes into my office one more time to tell me that he just met someone really impressive, with brilliant ideas that blew him away who just happens to be doing MY job at another institution…. I am going to:

-Scream

-Puke

-Cry

-Run

or

-Throw an excel spreadsheet at his head

How do you think that will be for my job security?

11 Responses to “Oh really? Thats great.”

  1. Matt Says:

    Go with puke.

  2. Elizabeth Says:

    Throw the spreadsheet. Or say, ‘that’s great but not as great as ME!!!!!’

  3. f.B Says:

    tell him you know a person just like that who has been dying to meet him. play administrative assistant and set up a time for “this person” to meet your boss in his office. and at that time, walk down the hall and sit there until he gets the point.

  4. Sara Says:

    OK F.B… I have been having like the most stressful day ever and this comment just made me shoot cold coffee through my nose. Thank you for that.


  5. Just go into HIS office and brag about this guy you met at Starbucks who does exactly the same thing he does, only better. That should teach him 😉

  6. f.B Says:

    good good. i love making stressful days a little lighter

  7. apollocreed Says:

    It depends, if the puke is chunky, then he might fire you. But if it’s smooth and watery and will come out of his clothes easily, then I think you’re good.

  8. Another Matt Says:

    I’m curious about this excel throwing idea… would it entail throwing the monitor where the spreadsheet is displayed (bad for employment,) or the computer where the data is housed (also bad, but really showing a commitment to the cause) or would you print out the spreadsheet, wad each page up and toss it at your bosses head (which I think everyone would enjoy)?

    Either way I pick that one. Screaming, puking, crying, or running will only leave you feeling more spent. Throwing something at the offender will send the message where it deserves to go.

  9. Beth Says:

    Hahahaha f.B. is right now. I think you definitely need to do this.

    But, hey, he wouldn’t be a boss if he didn’t have some sort of obnoxious quirk, right?

  10. Erin Says:

    Let’s add flipping him the bird to that list.


  11. Yaaaay appreciative bosses.

Leave a Reply

