Food Friday: Tex-Mex Chowder

December 5, 2008

This week work has been INSANE and when I am really short on time I like to have a few quick recipes with minimal ingredientsI can throw together at the end of a long day.  I make this one often; sometimes I swap out the fish fillets for crab or scallops.  Whatever you like or is on sale will work.  Or, you can skip the seafood all together and add chickpeas for a vegetarian meal. 

ss_r100611

1 can (14 1/2 ounces) chicken broth

2/3 cup instant rice (brown or white)

1 package (10 oz) frozen corn

1 1/2 cups salsa (any kind you like, chunky is good)

1 lb skinned, mild flavored fish fillets* cut into 2 inch pieces

In a large saucepan, combine broth with enough water to equal 5 cups.  Bring to a boil.  Stir in rice, reduce heat to medium and cover.  Cook for 5 minutes.  Add the corn and salsa.  Return to boiling. 

Add fish to the pot.  Cook, covered, for five minutes or until fish is opaque and flakes with when touched lightly with a  fork.  Serve with lime wedges and crusty bread if desired. 

*haddok, cod or halibut will work well

PS:  WordPress users: How do you feel about the new dashboard layout?  I am not loving it…at all.  Does anyone know how to get to your own blog from your dashboard now?  There used to be fairly obvious button that said “visit site” but now it is gone.  Why does technology hate me?

7 Responses to “Food Friday: Tex-Mex Chowder”

  1. f.B Says:

    Salivating a little here. Over the chowder, not at the idea of a more intuitive WordPress dashboard. But it’s so a chowder time of year and I can’t wait to try that

  2. Matt Says:

    There is a new dashboard?

    wtf?

  3. Matt Says:

    oh wow. I hadnt logged in yet. I just saw it.

    Great. Now I will have to re-learn everything. There goes my weekend.

  4. Sara Says:

    Yeah, and even worse…you can customize your own dashboard now. So not only to I have to figure out how to use the damn thing, I have to figure out what I want on it when all I really want is my old dashboard back. Why do you do this to me wordpress people????


  5. Yumm!! I was lookiing for a good soup to make this weekend! I just bought crab meat!!

    as far as the dashboard, what do you mean we can customize? OMG, like Matt said, there goes my weekend!! just when you get good at this, they go and change it! they must be talking with people at work, changing everything!

    have a great weekend, Sara! Work as you know has been crazy here too!!

  6. Beth Says:

    I think you can just click the title of your blog on the top. (testing testing) yep, just click the name of your blog on top left (if you hover over it it says “visit site”.

    I’m not sure how I feel about the dashboard yet… I had problems with the old version on certain browsers so if this one has fixed that, I will probably like it better.

  7. Sara Says:

    Thank you Beth! Now,when I went to do try it there was a little arrow that said ‘visit site’ but I swear it was not there before… are they messing with me?

Leave a Reply

