“And what if there were two, Side by side in orbit..”

December 1, 2008

Dear D,

The truth is; I had no interest in meeting you.  My heart was heavy with worry for my father and quite frankly…I did not want to meet anyone.  Our friends dragged me out that night and for the first time in weeks, I laughed.  I don’t know if I knew right then that I would spend my life with you but I knew you were special.  Since that day I have learned so much more about you than your interest in running and winter sports and your affinity for the Midwest.  In honor of your birthday, here are five of my favorite.

-You are incredibly kind.  You give everyone you meet the benefit of the doubt and I have never heard you say a bad word about anyone. 

-You are amazingly patient.  I can not even begin to count the number of times I have made us late for parties, dinners and flights or how often you have heard me say “I’m ready” only to watch me run around the room for 5 more minutes straitening up, putting away the remote or fixing the throw pillows.  You have never lost your temper or left with out me and that is pretty amazing.

-You are totally honest.  When you flew out to surprise me in AZ you managed to plan the whole thing with out telling one lie.  When I threw you your surprise 30th I must have told hundreds of them.  This honesty holds true for everything you do and every interaction you have. 

-You are extremely talented.  By profession you are one of the lucky people who get to make the world a more beautiful place and you have certainly done the same for our home.  I love having a husband who actually cares what shade of gray the living room is and makes custom breakfast bars from left over pieces of ceder. 

-You are reliably funny.  I can honestly say that everyday we are together to make me smile, chuckle or giggle.  I never imagined life could be so much fun.

cute_sara

Happy Birthday to my husband, my partner, my friend.  Love, S

16 Responses to ““And what if there were two, Side by side in orbit..””

  1. Beth Says:

    eessh…. I’m a little misty over that. and then the picture just sent it over the edge! what a great post.

  2. Beth Says:

    also PS- your husband is smokin… JEALOUSSSS.


  3. awwww…i am a bit misty too! I love you it! You both are very lucky, two wonderful people!! I hope you all will do something fun to celebrate!!

    Miss ya!

  4. Matt Says:

    I hate waiting around for women to get ready.

    He’s a handsome lad, I wish I could pull off the face stubble look.

  5. Matt Says:

    oh yeah…

    I’m misty too.


  6. awwwwww… Happy Birthday Sara’s hubby! What better birthday present that to know you actually get to spend the rest of your life with Sara? I mean, she’s so fabulous that you can’t ask for anything more…

  7. Molly Says:

    Happy birthday, D!!! Toasting you with some Redstripe 🙂

    M&M

  8. Elizabeth Says:

    Happy Birthday, D!!!

    S – great post! You & D are so luck to have each other.

  9. Chelle Says:

    Ooohh, I hope you have lots of birthday bliss !!!

    😉


  10. Beautiful post, GORGEOUS photo. I LOVE. Happy birthday, D!


  11. He’s even handsome, and judging from the title, must have great taste in music. Score. Happy Birthday D!

  12. Lexi Says:

    that picture makes me smile.

    happy birthday d!

  13. Jennie Says:

    Such a GREAT picture (and accompanying story). Happy birthday, D!

  14. f.B Says:

    everyone wants to know they’ve changed someone’s life enough in the right way to get a letter like that.

    but i also think the “Great Expectations” banner in the rear left is so spot on. because by the sound of it, you have so much to look forward to together.

  15. Christine Says:

    I could not agree more

  16. Christine Says:

    that could not have been said better

Leave a Reply

