“Grab your things, I have come to take you home”

November 19, 2008

Yesterday D and I found out that one of the offers we made on a house was accepted. D owned the house we are presently living in before we got married or started dating, so even though he has done this before, it is totally new to me. If you are interested in the play by play…here are the five things that immediately followed the good news.

1) D tries like a mad man to get in touch with me – I of course am running around from meeting to meeting ignoring my e-mail and blinking red phone light. When I finally sit down and see an email from him saying: CALL ME STAT I conclude that he is missing an extremity

2) I start to freak out and sweat – It is one thing to be looking at houses and dreaming about houses but to actually get a house, to start to think about how much the whole thing is going to cost and what it is going to do to your expendable income is scary. And…I am not the best with change.

3) I make D promise not to tell anyone – I want to bask in the excitement for a few hours and just tell our parents. Two minutes later, I e-mail C and tell her. OK, so I suck as basking in the excitement. By the time I get home I have told a few friends, my parents and some random family members. True to his word, D has told no one. Oops….

4) I get home and start to cry – As aforementioned, I have wavered about leaving our current residence. I start to look around and reminisce about the place where we had our first kiss, the counter where wrote our vows and ate our meals and all of the laughter, the joy and sometimes the tears that filled the walls of our first place together. D takes one look at my weepy eyes and says “do you want to start to look at kitchens on line?”. My mood instantly changes. I love how well this man knows me.

5) I start to really think about the future- And not just the kitchens I saw on line (but wow, you can really do a lot of neat stuff with a kitchen). We sit and look at the piles of paperwork, calculate how much we make a month, wonder where it all goes and initial in a thousand places. We talk about dates and repairs and what bathroom we will fix first. We laugh and I cry (just a little) and I realize….we are really buying a house together.

15 Responses to ““Grab your things, I have come to take you home””

  1. Erin Says:

    Wow…congratulations, my friend! Many more warm memories to come.

  2. fritz Says:

    aww that gave me goosebumps and a little tear! i cannot wait to buy a house!

  3. Matt Says:

    LOL, I think it’s awesome that he uses the word STAT.

    I hear it all the time at the hospitals but not so much outside of work…

  4. apollocreed Says:

    Conrats!

    Now, where to put your Bo Jackson poster?

  5. Molly Says:

    Congratulations again! We will toast on Friday 🙂

  6. f.B Says:

    congratulations! and if you weren’t even a little scared, it would be creepy and unnatural. it’s a big deal, but it’s a big GREAT deal

  7. Heidi Says:

    YAY!!!!!!!!!! Congrats! 🙂

  8. Mandy Says:

    Solid. Lots to celebrate in our clan!

  9. Anna Says:

    So so exciting. Brian will be excited for you two as well, tell me more, which one is it?

  10. Beth Says:

    congratulations! kitchen shopping with my husband sounds like something I am very much looking forward to.


  11. The first time we bought a house I was a wreck. I couldn’t even enjoy it at all. Now I think I would handle it all with a lot more peace.

    IKEA has a fun kitchen building program.


  12. hurray! Congratulations on the house!! Oh, and DEFINITLEY look at kitchens online…they’re so much fun to renovate…

  13. mebeingrandom Says:

    Oh how exciting!!! I love looking at new kitchens and other furniture!!! Congratulations!!!

  14. Jennie Says:

    So exciting! Congrats! Can’t wait to hear more.


  15. […] in a very cool, but very small apartment (only three people can sit at the table at a time).  But, the new house will have plenty of entertaining space so I am trying to learn all I can about how to properly host […]

Leave a Reply

