Going batty

November 12, 2008

Typically I don’t even remember my dreams so I seldom obsess over them.  If something is particularly disturbing I might recall it first thing in the morning, but by the time I try to tell anyone, I have totally forgotten the relevant details. However, last week I had by far one of the most disturbing dreams…ever.  I dreamed that somehow a baby bat became embedded underneath the skin of my right calf.  And after seeing a doctor about the BAT IN MY LEG, he told me that there was nothing he could do and I had to wait for it to dissolve.  So, lets recap… there is a bat living in the flesh under my skin and I have to wait for it to dissolve.  And in the dream no one is freaking out about this.  I cam see the bones and the veins and the wings of the bat moving around under the skin and I can feel the creature and it itches and it is not good.   I have been racking my brain to try to figure out what this could possibly mean and I have come up with the following five options (with a little help from Google).

one: there is actually a bat living in m leg.  It is moving around and spreading it’s little bat wings and my dream was a premonition of the day I see a dr and he/she is totally unconcerned about it. This is by far my least favorite option.

two:  to dream of a bat symbolizes demons and uncleanliness.  To dream of a white bat signifies the death of a family member.  To dream of a black bat signifies personal disaster.  So my demon filled dirty life is going to meet personal disaster when a family member kicks the bucket?  Great.  Option #1 is looking better and better.

three: to dream of your legs indicates that you have regained your confidence and can stand on your own.  What happens if you can’t stand at all do to a bat-in-the-leg infestation? Still, better than one or two.

four: to dream of a doctor indicates your need for emotional and spiritual healing.  Not emotional OR spiritual healing, emotional AND spiritual healing.  Well of course I need healing, I have a BAT living in my leg!

five: to dream that you are injured  indicates that you need to work on healing  old wounds.  Is this in addition to the new wounds?

What do you think?  Does anyone have special dream interpretation skills?  Have I totally lost my mind?

bat

THIS is living in my leg?

12 Responses to “Going batty”

  1. adorablybitter Says:

    It is kind of cute…

    Here’s my theory – you got a cramp in you leg at the middle of the night and as the sensible bits of your brain were asleep at the moment, your body grabbed for the closest available shelf for solution. God knows how long this poor bat had been sitting on that shelf and now you finally got to use it.

  2. fritz Says:

    i have dreams my contacts are the size of mrs. fields cookies and i try to put them in while i am standing in line at my college cafeteria and my current boss is requesting random things, such as put the bat facts up in the hallway before the grant people come…bats…hummm


  3. holy bat! I mean, crap! hahaha

    Funny that you mention this because I had the most disturbing dream last night too… sometimes I have vivid dreams where I swear things are actually happening.

  4. Matt Says:

    I think you may be the next Batman. Or batwoman.

    Embrace it.

  5. Beth Says:

    Holy hell. All I know is I am legit. creeped out by that picture.

    And I agree that you are batman.

  6. Elizabeth Says:

    Ok – first, I have a fear of bats, so this is literally my WORST nightmare.

    Second – I think this means that you drank too much last night. 🙂

  7. f.B Says:

    i think everyone is overlooking a new obvious disaster. if that bat is inside your leg, then THAT is what the inside of your leg looks like. what exactly are you made of? you should get that checked out. or maybe we should ask the bat, because it seems to be nibbling away on it…

    (i also hear that Peru is trying to make that the official bird of Washington, DC)

  8. Molly Says:

    I love you, but I am totally freaked out by this.


  9. Ummm…can I have some of what you’re on?

  10. Erin Says:

    OMG! First off, NASTY dream. I would be freaking out about this too and I’m sorry I don’t have any dream dissection knowledge to share.

    Secondly, the blog I just wrote is based off a dream I just had… we are so crazily connected! Must be the Jan. 16th thing. But I have to say, my dream was a hell of a lot better than a creepy bat in my leg. 😉

  11. Sara Says:

    Adorably- brilliant!
    Fritz- can you eat the contacts?
    LPB- any bats?
    Matt- I think you could be on to something.
    Beth- me too, now imagine that picture in your LEG!
    Elizabeth- I was stone cold sober, I swear.
    fb- no that is some weird picture I found on the net, if that was the inside of my leg I would have much bigger problems!
    Molly- me too….
    PE- nope, not on anything… honest
    Erin- as always, great minds think alike!

  12. Mandy Says:

    It kind of looks like Winston.

Leave a Reply

