Food Friday: Roasted Butternut Squash

November 7, 2008

The last day my local farmers market was open, I asked my favorite vegetable and flower provider what I could buy up that would last the longest.  He suggested some squash and a few other hearty vegetables (including the most delicious turnips I have ever eaten).  For almost 2 weeks now I have had a beautiful butternut squash sitting in my fridge and have yet to be inspired on what to do with it.  Then I found this recipe.  It is amazingly simple and the butter and spices bring out all natural sweetness and richness naturally found in butternut squash. 

roasted-butternut-squash_slideshow_image

2 Tbsp butter

2 lbs fresh butternut squash chunks*

1 1/2 Tbsp sugar

1/2 tsp salt

1/4 tsp ground cinnamon

Heat oven to 400 degrees.  You will need a rimmed baking pan lined with nonstick foil.

Put butter in pan.  Place in oven until melted.  Remove pan from oven and add remaining ingredients.  Toss to coat and spread into an even layer.

Roast 25 to 30 minuted, tossing once or twice, until squash is tender.  Transfer to serving bowl.

* you can either start with a whole squash or buy the pre-cut chunks in the produce section of your local market.  If you start with the whole squash, be careful cutting it.  I have nearly taken off four fingers attempting to cut one in half.

7 Responses to “Food Friday: Roasted Butternut Squash”

  1. Matt Says:

    I feel less than positive or nuetral about this recipe.

  2. Sara Says:

    Note to self: no more veggie recipes

  3. Beth Says:

    I’m jealous that you actually do things like go to farmers markets and buy large, delicious vegetables. I wish I was this motivated. I want to make this, though, so maybe I should be!


  4. yummmmm.. where do you find these delicious recipes? you have great culinary taste, my friend.

  5. Erin Says:

    Local farmers market. You New Englanders are so cute.

    Recipe looks delish, btw.


  6. YUMM! I also love roasted acorn squash! What do you have for eggplant?

  7. Anna Says:

    Yumm-o! I am making this tomorrow with the squash I have.

Leave a Reply

