Food Friday: Oven Cheese Fries

October 24, 2008

I made these the other night to go along with some salmon burgers and they were great.  I guess conventional wisdom says to figure one potato per person but I would plan on more, I promise…they will go fast!

2 russet potatoes, cut in 1/2 lengthwise, and then into fourths to make big, fat wedges

1/4 cup extra -virgin olive oil

kosher salt

2 tablespoons chopped parsley leaves

1/4 cup freshly grated Parmigiano-Reggiano

Preheat oven to 425 degrees

Preheat baking sheet in the oven for at least 5 minutes*

While the baking sheet is heating, toss the potatoes with the olive oil and 3/4 teaspoon salt in a large bowl. Then dump the potatoes out on the a baking sheet, spreading to a single layer.  Roast for 30 to 35 minutes, shaking the pan every now and then, until the potatoes are cooked through, brown and crispy.  Toss the fries in a big bowel with the parsley and cheese

* I am convinced that this step is what makes the fries so crispy

8 Responses to “Food Friday: Oven Cheese Fries”

  1. Matt Says:

    Now this, Sara, is a recipe I can use!!!!!!!!!

  2. Beth Says:

    Holy crap, this looks amazing! I say yes please to this for dinner tonight. Actually, do you think it would be good with sweet potatoes? I have some of those at home and have been craving sweet potato fries lately…

  3. Sara Says:

    Beth- I think you can absolutely use sweet potatoes with this recipe! You could toss them with some thin ribbons of sage or thyme rather than the parsley for a different twist. Let me know how it goes.


  4. Ooh..I copied the recipe and am looking forward to trying it out! The picture is making me hungry…

  5. Erin Says:

    This looks absolutely amazing. Now I know what I’m having for din din.

  6. Lexi Says:

    those sound excellent! I will definitly try them sometime!

  7. Beth Says:

    So I made a giant batch of these (using sweet potatoes) on Saturday night… and they were amazing. I ate them all. Two potatoes worth. By myself. It was a riveting Saturday night… just me and my sweet potato fries.

    Also, I noticed the most amazing typo in this post when I was making them:

    “Toss the fries in a big bowel with the parsley and cheese.”

    Hehehehe 🙂


  8. […] I could do last night was cuddle with Shorty and eat a giant batch of these cheese fries from Sara’s Food Fridays.  (I make them with sweet potatoes, and I have to tell you… I am addicted.  I can’t […]

Leave a Reply

