Sick

October 22, 2008

Some differences in our house….

One:

When I get sick, I give progress reports daily.  “I feel a little tickle in my throat” or, “I think I might be getting a headache”.

When D gets sick, it comes on with no warning.  One day he is fine, the next morning he can’t swallow.

Two:

When I get sick I chalk it up to “something going around” or a bug.

When D gets sick he wants a precise culprit. Ie: “Do you think it was that kid at dinner the other night? Do you think she was sick? Could it have infected me this quickly?”

Three:

When I get sick my activities include; laying on the couch, repositioning on the couch, and transitioning from couch to bed.

When D gets sick his activities include two hours of competitive hockey in the freezing cold.

Four:

When I get sick my diet consists of chicken soup, tea, chicken and rice soup and juice.

When D gets sick his diet consists of pizza, cookies and whatever else he normally eats.

Five:

When I get sick I subscribe to the ‘better living through chemistry’ mantra.  I take Dayquil, Nyquil, Betweenquil and any other drug I can get my hands on to ease the symptoms.

When D gets sick he likes to tough it out as long as possible.  D must be really sick because I think, I heard him take a Nyquil last night.

12 Responses to “Sick”

  1. Molly Says:

    oh no! Will he be able to make it Friday? I hope he feels better…men can be such babies when they don’t feel well 🙂

  2. fritz Says:

    OMG that is so funny!! Kevin is rather like that, although when he gets sick (before he even goes to the doctor) he automatically has cancer, followed by some other malady that will involve being admitted into the hospital…


  3. omg I can SOOOOO relate. When my husband gets sick, he’s such a baby!


  4. oh, forgot to add, hubby has even go so far as to tell me “you have no idea” when I ask him if he’s in pain. And I’m like, yeah, cause I birthed two of your children, one naturally and one where they had to rip open my insides…you psycho crazy man! LOL

  5. Matt Says:

    I am exactly like D.

    Exactly. Especially the blaming part…it’s important to know who’s fault it is.

  6. Beth Says:

    “When I get sick my activities include; laying on the couch, repositioning on the couch, and transitioning from couch to bed.”

    These are also my sick activities. Sometimes I even go as far as to build a “couchbed” in which I take all the blankets and pillows from my bed onto the couch so I have the best of both worlds.

    Hope he feels better and also crossing my fingers that you don’t catch it!

  7. Erin Says:

    Lets try this again. Forgot my original comment… all I have to say now is that boys are just not normal.

  8. Jennie Says:

    I think the roles are reversed in my household…Interesting. Hope he gets better soon!

  9. Mike Says:

    So, um, he’s going to be ready to drink Friday night, right?! Better be. And that means you, too!

  10. Carly Says:

    Hmmmm, D sounds strikingly similar to this guy I know. I thought they only had food preferences in common….


  11. It seems D has a thing or two in common with my DH – I hope he feels better by tonight!

  12. Matt Says:

    The most important difference in my house (directly related to #1:)

    The Wife – gets sick over the course of days and takes twice that to get better.

    Me – gets really sick really fast then *snap* is better just like that.

    Boy does she hate that.

Leave a Reply

