Food Friday: Hot Mulled Apple Cider

October 10, 2008

This weekend D and I are heading to VT with some friends to get away for a few days and enjoy the fall foliage.  With the cooler night air and the sight of leaves turning color I thought I would share a recipe for one of my favorite fall beverages. 

             

2 quarts (8 cups) apple juice*

1/2 cup packed brown sugar

6 whole cloves

3 cinnamon sticks, broken into 1 inch pieces

1 cup rum

In a large saucepan combine first four ingredients.  Bring to boil and reduce to simmer for 20 minutes.  Strain to remove pieces.  Add rum and serve warm with a cinnamon stick in each glass. 

Note: You can omit the rum if you are planning on serving this to kids, or keep the rum and figure they will sleep really well that night.  (I do not have kids of my own so please, do not feel like you need to report me to child protective services)

* you can use whatever apple juice you want, but I find the better the juice the better your final product will be, fresh cider would be the best.

7 Responses to “Food Friday: Hot Mulled Apple Cider”

  1. Erin Says:

    Yum! I love fall and all its goodies! Have a great trip…


  2. That looks great! I hope you had a great time in VT!!

  3. heidi Says:

    mulled wine is awesome 🙂 Have a great trip to my home state!!!

  4. Anna Says:

    Yum. I love seasonal drinks. And that you are devoted to Food Friday!

    Hope you guys have a great trip.

  5. Rachel Says:

    I just found you’re blog and now I am ecstatic. Thanks for the awesome recipe.

  6. Carly Says:

    If i didn’t tell you already, I’m making this for tailgating. It might cure my sickness.

  7. adorablybitter Says:

    Oh my, have to come up with an occasion to serve that! Sounds real nice!

Leave a Reply

