I don’t care what ‘they’ say, this is Depressing

October 1, 2008

Lately I have been reading a lot of blog posts that start with; “I don’t usually talk politics but…” and then they go on some rant about the election, or the candidates or the economy.  I hate talking about things that I don’t really understand and trust me when I tell you, I REALLY don’t understand our financial system, but lately it has become just too big of an issue to ignore.  So, I don’t usually talk economics but…. regardless of the number of people who get on Fox News and tell me we are not in a depression, the following five things lead me to believe that we are pretty close.

1) Last night while driving on I95 I got a call from one of my friends saying 10% of her company had been laid off that morning.  This came just a month after 20% of D’s firm had be laid off.  These are well educated hard working people who no longer have jobs.  That is depressing.

2) After talking to my friend and giving her the best pep talk I could muster, NPR had this story about the number of homeless children attending public schools.  According to the National Association for the Education of Homeless Children and Youth, districts have reported a 10%-40% increase in homeless children over the last year.  That is depressing.

3) My father is watching CSPAN non stop.  This may not seems strange to you because you don’t know my father but trust me, he is not a money guy.  He is a retired civil servant who knows as much about his financial picture as his adviser tells him and has never been one to really follow ‘the market’.  But according to my mother, he can not go to bed at night unless he spends over an hour watching CSPAN to see “just how bad it is”.  That is depressing.

4) A friend of mine who is graduating law school this spring can not find a job…anywhere.  This is not a woman who is a middle of the road type of student.  She graduated college with a 4.0 (I know) and received an academic scholarship to attend law school.  She is on all the special mute courts and does all the things that are supposed to make her an attractive candidate.  When I told this story to another friend of ours, also an attorney, her response was “Sara, the economy is really bad”.  Good people can’t find work.  That is depressing.

5) Time Keown (a sportswriter from ESPN) recently posted this article about the ‘upside’ of the failing economy and how it will bring to light the real cost for new stadiums etc.  So, the upside of the financial market reeling before our very eyes is that it makes us more aware of corporate greed and the high price tax payer’s ultimately pay?   That is depressing.

Someone, anyone….tell me I am wrong.  Give me some sort of evidence that it is not as bad as it seems. This one time, I don’t want to be right. *

* or- tell me I am right, I like to be right too.

7 Responses to “I don’t care what ‘they’ say, this is Depressing”

  1. Matt Says:

    I’m not going to pretend I’m smart enough to understand this “crisis”.

    What I do understand however, is that- I cannot sell my condo for dick, last month my company laid off one of my co-workers and gas is burning a hole in my freaking pocket.

    can someone help us out here?

  2. Erin Says:

    This is where moving back in with my mom comes in awfully darn handy. (I tell myself as I try to forget what a loser I am.)

    Seriously though, you’re right. It’s freaking scary.

  3. Mike Says:

    Here’s one for you. We like pizza. And, I’m not ashamed to say Dominos. And, just as a tangent, order online and watch the process. It’s pretty freakin’ cool. You know when it’s in the oven, when it’s out and when on the way. Talk about web 2.0.

    Anyway, that aside…we were to the point of ordering from Dominos once a week. Why? Convenient. And not too bad.

    But, that’s twenty bucks a week. Times 52 weeks a year. Can you say more than $1,000 in pizza? Are you freaking kidding me?

    So, say hello to more homemade pizza. Dominos isn’t going away (did I mention the website?). But, $1,000 a year in pizza will not be happening.


  4. I know, it sucks. It’s so sad to see people in those situations.

  5. Matt Says:

    I quit my job almost a year ago because the job and I weren’t getting along and I figured finding a new gig couldn’t be that hard. I took two months off to decompress and enjoy the holidays and then started looking for work.

    I have my first in person interview tomorrow… after almost 10 months of looking.

    Two things:
    1) Don’t quit your job until you have another one lined up now matter how crazy the old job is driving you.
    2) It’s bad out there.

    So yeah, you’re right.


  6. I have to say it is bad out there. I too cannot even begin to understand fully the “crisis” we are facing. I do know people losing homes, and not being able to pay for things….I now look at things in a new light, “how much is that?”

    you are right…

  7. Lexi Says:

    I totally don’t understand this “crisis” either. I haven’t changed any habits (okay, that’s a lie…I did buy 2% milk the other day rather then 1%, but I don’t think that is what people are talking about). My boyfriend just bought a house and he’s far from wealthy, so maybe things aren’t as bleak as they appear?

Leave a Reply

