Will I get hazard pay for this?

September 29, 2008

As many of you know, I recently switched jobs and my new health insurance company requires me to visit a GP before they will pay for anything. (Why exactly do heath insurance companies hate me?) So over the past few weeks I have been going from one Dr to another, sitting in waiting rooms full of sick people while I feel totally healthy so that my insurance company will pay part of medical bills they should be covering entirely.  During these visits with various MD’s, OD’sand LMT’s I have discovered that I work in a very dangerous field.  The following conditions are a direct result of my work and I have been warned to be on the look out for: 

1) poor eyesight- too much time in front of the computer can result my eyes having difficulty focusing from near to far .  This can become a degenertivie condition.   Prescription: reading glasses as well as a one minute break for every hour spent in front of the computer.

2) bad back- the height of my computer in relation to my chair requires me to sit forward and can cause pain in my lower back.  This condition can become worse causing pain through my shoulders and down my legs.  Prescription: five minutes of stretching for each hour sitting at my desk.

3) transmission of germs- because we work with the general public our door knobs, handles and water fountains are full of germs.  I should be washing my hands time I come in contact with anything the public touches.  Prescription: trip to the rest room for ‘ vigorous ‘ washing every hour or when coming in contact with the public. 

4) respiratory distress- re-circulated air (required in a museum) can cause lung infections.  Prescription: brief walks in fresh air, at least two times a day.

5) weight gain – those who work in a sedimentary environment are more likely to experience weight gain than those who are active (uh, duh?).  People who work at a desk should participate in 10-15 min of aerobic exercise to combat weight gain.

According to my calculations…. my Dr’s are requiring me to take somewhere around 2 hours and 48 minutes throughout my day to rest, stretch, aerobasize, wash and breathe.  Do you think I could get a Dr’s note for that?

8 Responses to “Will I get hazard pay for this?”

  1. Mike Says:

    Isn’t that about the amount of time you used to use for Starbucks runs and the like? 😉 I’m just sayin’….and, oh, by the way, miss you pretty much like freakin’ crazy.

  2. Anna Says:

    I wish you were here to do your resting, stretching and procrastinating health breaks!

  3. Jennie Says:

    Aerobasize. Nice word.
    : )

  4. Matt Says:

    at the hospital we have a duck pond that I walk around every day….

    at least twice.


  5. Hey girl get the doctor to to write the note!! Chelle and I have been going to the gym twice a week! Phew it feels good!! Lets get together soon!!


  6. hahahahah love it, I know exactly what you mean. But I come from the train of thought that states that having a job, any job, is a hazard to your health.

  7. Erin Says:

    yes, yes, yes, yes and yes! Sign me up for that Dr.’s note, too!

  8. Sara Says:

    Mike & Anna- Miss you guys too… and yeah, I def put in some overtime at the ‘bucks.
    Jennie – thanks!
    Matt- My job would be so much better if we had a duck pond…or some ducks.
    Hallie- please!
    LPB- you make a great point, maybe I should re-think work entirely.
    Erin- I’m on it!

Leave a Reply

