Food Friday: Spicy Stir-Fried Shrimp

September 26, 2008

I am feeling a little badly about the unflattering shrimp photo I posted on Tuesday.  So for today’s Food Friday posting I figured I would show shrimp in a slightly better light.  This recipe includes some pre-made chili sauce which may feel like cheating for you cooking purists but it could not be easier and is great over noodles or rice. 

1 tablespoon vegetable oil

1 shallot, thinly sliced

1 pound large shrimp, peeked and devained, tails left in tact

2 tablespoons Asian Chili sauce

1 tablespoon sugar

Heat oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat until hot but not smoking.  Add shallot, and cook until softened and light golden, 2 to 3 minutes,

Add shrimp, chili sauce, and sugar; cook, stirring constantly, until shrimp are pink and opaque, 3 to 4 minutes.  Season with salt and pepper to taste and serve over rice or noodles. 

 

Also: I started the Food Friday postings a couple of months ago because it seemed like a fun idea to try to find five ingredient recipe’s each week.  I am unsure if I am going to continue to do it.  What do you all think?

6 Responses to “Food Friday: Spicy Stir-Fried Shrimp”

  1. fritz Says:

    personally i like the recipes because they only have five ingredients and a novice chef like myself can appreciate the fancy food with only five ingredients!!

  2. Matt Says:

    That looks delicious.

    I think you keep doing it…but your bound to run out of recipes, no?

  3. Erin Says:

    Looks fabulous. Makes me think of our sushi dates and miss you even more.

    I say you keep doing it. Always gives me inspiration on how I’m going to pig out over the weekend.

  4. Anna Says:

    I think it is brilliant (well, I’m a little partial to Food Fridays) but I think more recipes should have just five ingredients (hear that, Rachael Ray?) so go forth and find them, please!

  5. Jennie Says:

    I personally love Food Fridays!


  6. Ah what? I love love love food fridays!! with 5 ingredients they are awesome! I have tried a couple too!! I am always looking for recipes that only have five things, never with any luck!! Keep it up my friend!

Leave a Reply

