Food Friday: White Bean & Sausage Soup

September 5, 2008

One of my favorite things about fall is the thought of a big pot of soup simmering away on the stove and a warm blanked to snuggle under. I know we are only a week past Labor Day, but the forecast for this weekend (at least in the Northeast) is rain and gusting wind and I am already craving a big bowl of soup.  This recipe is ridiculously easy and you can sub in and out a ton of different vegetable for a million variations. 

1 package Leek Soup and recipe mix (Knorr is suggested, any will do)

1 lb reduced fat kielbasa or Italian sausage

2 cans (16 oz each) white kidney beans (cannellini) rinsed

6 oz Swill chard coarsely chopped (if you don’t like or have chard you can use kale, spinach, or any green)

Grated Parmesen cheese

Mix soup mix with 6 cups of water.   Add kielbasa and beans.  Simmer on med-low until kielbasa is heated through.

Remove kielbasa with tongs to cutting board; cut into diagonal slices.

Stir kielbasa and chard into the pot.  Simmer until chard is wilted (apx 10 min).  Serve on its own or with warm crusty bread.

NOTE: this can also be made very easily in a crock pot.  Cook kielbasa, broth and beans on low for 7-9 hours before removing meat to be cut, follow the remainder of the recipe.

3 Responses to “Food Friday: White Bean & Sausage Soup”


  1. yumyyyyyyyyyy, that looks delish. You just made me hungry, which is not a good thing because I’m trying to not eat outside my scheduled meals. thanks, my dear friend! hahaha

  2. Tasha Says:

    My late father-in-law used to make a white bean and sausage soup that was thicker than this (I think it even had bread in it) I loved it but never found the recipe. This looks delicious. I believe I will try some.

Leave a Reply

