Good times never seem so good, so good, so good

August 25, 2008

Friday night I went out with a  bunch of girlfriends to celebrate a good friends birthday.  A bottle of champagne and 6 pitchers of sangria later (for 7 women; don’t judge) we ended up at a bar singing and dancing along with a great regional band.  After we had screamed through a few sets it occurred to me that there are at least 5 (certainly more, but for my pourposes I will go with my 5) songs that all groups of women love and will instantly start dancing to.  They are:

1) Sweet Caroline by Neil Diamond  – This is a great one to start off the night. No matter how few lyrics you know, everyone can sing back “SO GOOD, SO GOOD” which is usually accompanied by pointing back at the band or your friends.

2) Livin on a Prayer by Jon Bon Jovi (or JBJ as we like to call him)- This one almost always involves one friend taking the hand of another friend as she belts out “take my hand and we will make it- I swear” followed by a loud “Ohhhh, ohhhh, Living on a prayer” .

3) Pour Some Sugar on Me by Def Leppard- Very few people actually know all the words to this song, so the ones who do sing them very loudly.  The others bop their heads and wait for the refrain when they scream “Pour your sugar on MEEEEEEEH”  and “I’m hot, sticky sweet, from my head to my feet, yeah”

4) Laid by James – Women LOVE this song.  Most don’t get through the first stanza but almost everyone knows “But she only comes when she’s on top” at which point they give their friends a knowing look thinking they are certainly the only ones in the bar that share this little secret and in fact, the song was written about them.  For the rest of the song they just yell out the “weeee, eeeeee, eeee”

5) All Night Long by AC/DC –  Who doesn’t love this song?  Again, very few people know all the lyrics but I challengeyou to find girls who don’t love and identify with “knockin’ me out with those American thighs” especially as they down their 1000th alcohol calorie for the evening. 

What songs get you dancing?  What have I missed?

9 Responses to “Good times never seem so good, so good, so good”

  1. legallyheidi Says:

    those songs are all my top 5 favorite bar songs also 🙂

  2. Fritz Says:

    from my college drinking days…we all sang janis joplin and no ONE knew all the words, but the more we drank the louder “take another piece of my heart now baby” became…ahh memories…

  3. Matt Says:

    Sweet Caroline- bomp bomp bomp!

    Thanks- now I will have that in my head ALL DAY! 🙂

  4. Mike Says:

    Sweet Caroline? Really? And when not at Fenway?

    How about I Want You to Want Me…What I Like About You…Sweet Child of Mine…and, you’ve got to have some Journey…Don’t Stop Believin’.


  5. #2 and #3 are faves of mine too! glad you had a blast.. so when’s the vacay post? I’m waiting. hehe

  6. Sara Says:

    Mike- Great point about Journey. I always thought they were more date-ish than rock out with your girl friends-ish but ‘Don’t Stop Believin’ is a classic.

  7. Lexi Says:

    I think Laid by James came out when I was in 7th grade…I bought the casette single! I had NO idea what it meant, but I sung at the top of my lungs anyway!

    All are very good bar songs…to the list, I’d add Abba’s Dancing Queen, Manic Monday by the Bangles, and Madonna’s Vogue!

  8. Jennie Says:

    I was going to say Dancing Queen, too. And I LOVE to sing I Want You to Want Me.

  9. elizabeth Says:

    Yay Neil Diamond!
    One for the list – Stuck in the Middle With You!

Leave a Reply

