Five Moments of Silence

August 19, 2008

I had planned on writing a few posts about my vacation when I returned today. However, when I started my morning routine with a cup of coffee and NPR.org, I saw that writer, journalist and fellow blogger Leroy Sievers lost his battle with cancer this past weekend.  Living with this ferocious disease is something that has hit very close to home for me at different points over the last ten years.  Leroy’s honesty, candor and approach to living with cancer allowed his readers to step inside a very private fight and cheer him on.  He managed to make us laugh and make us cry as we sent our best wishes, our hopes and our prayers to him. If you want to read some of his posts you can look at his blog called My Cancer and if you are feeling up to it, send his wife a message.  In the meantime, I want to take a few moments of quiet silence:

For Leroy

For the people who loved him

For the thousands of people who fight the same battle day in and day out

For the people who love them

For the men and women, the Doctors and Nurses, the lab techs and friendly faces who help those battling the disease fight a few more days.

4 Responses to “Five Moments of Silence”

  1. Mike Says:

    First, fabulous post. Second, welcome back.

  2. Anna Says:

    Welcome back, first!

    Then thank you for sharing that. It was like a punch when I read that he had died, I am so glad you posted about him.

  3. Jennie Says:

    I’ve been following Leroy on his blog, too. I was devastated when I read the news this weekend. I felt like I had lost a really good friend. His way with words astounded me.


  4. welcome back! omg that is sooo sad, that is awful 😦

Leave a Reply

