Food Friday: From Jennie From Scratch

August 15, 2008

When I first started blogging I struggled a lot with how much personal information I wanted to share about my friends and family.  Then I had a few bad days and I turned to this blog as a bit of an outlet.  After I posted some of my feelings and stories about my family I panicked.  Jennie was one of the wonderful bloggers out there who offered her support and kind words and it meant the world to me.  Please check her out over at Trim and Fashionable; and while you are there… read her story about how she named her blog.  It is hilarious. 

Several months ago I noticed someone commenting on several different blogs I browse. Her name was Sara and she seemed so nice and intelligent in her comments. I was intrigued by the title of her blog If I Had To Pick Five, so I clicked over to see what her blog was all about. After I read several entries, I realized she had BY FAR the most clever idea for a blog Iʼd ever seen. I love it! We emailed back and forth a few times about undergarments, running, and just life in general, and I quickly found out that she was one of my favorite bloggy friends. Sheʼs so easy to talk to and so supportive and encouraging to people sheʼs never even met! The world would be a better place if we could find more like her.
 
She asked me to do a guest post for her on Food Friday, so I obliged since apparently the thing I like to think about most is food. I seriously love food, you guys. Iʼm participating in a summer Whip It Up challenge, which has been so fun. Feel free to visit the Whip It Up headquarters if youʼd like to read about some really wonderful recipes.
 
What I really want to talk about today on Food Friday, however, is my From Scratch club. My friend Stephanie learned how to make tamales a while back and offered to let a few of us come over to her house to make them with her. We went one Saturday morning and had such a great time that we formed a club! Because we have several sets of hands at our disposal, we try to only make things that are from scratch or require a lot of chopping. Itʼs a good opportunity to try those really complicated and/or sophisticated recipes you might be too scared to try on your own. We limit our group to four because any more than that would make for a crowded kitchen. I encourage you to try it out if you enjoy cooking!
 
My favorite recipe so far from that club is Spaghetti with Ricotta Meatballs.  Oh my word.  You have to try them.  Trust me.
 
 
Thanks for letting me post on your site, Sara!  Hope you had a nice vacation.
One Response to “Food Friday: From Jennie From Scratch”

  1. Mike Says:

    I wish the screen were scratch and sniff because that looks yummy!

Leave a Reply

