Food Friday: Cool Mixed Berry Soup

August 8, 2008

I know that not everyone loves cold soups, but I after I heard this story on NPR, I ran to the Internet to check out the recipe. It is very light, full of things that a good for you and delicious with a sandwich or a hearty salad.  There are only 5 ingredients (of course) and you don’t need to use your stove at all, so it is perfect for those last sweltering days of summer. 

3 cups mixed fresh or frozen berries (raspberries, strawberries and/or blueberries work well)

1 cup cranberry juice

1 cup yogurt (whole or low-fat)

Juice of 1/2 lemon

1 to 2 tablespoons honey, to taste

In a blender set at high speed, whiz the berries and juice together until you achieve a smooth puree.  If you are using frozen berries the puree will be rather slushy.  You”ll need to stop and scrape down the sides of the blender periodically with a rubber spatula.

Strain the puree to remove any berry seeds or fibers.  Place the puree back in the blender and add the yogurt, lemon and honey to taste.

Makes 4 servings

NOTE: To achieve the really fancy design in this picture put some sour cream or yogurt in a zip lock bag.  Cut a small bit off the corner and use the bag to pipe out rings.  Drag a toothpick through the rings to create the star burst effect.  This is something I always think about doing but never follow through on.  The soup looks just as beautiful on its own or with a sprig of mint.  Garnish as you wish or not at all, I won’t tell.

4 Responses to “Food Friday: Cool Mixed Berry Soup”

  1. CuriousC Says:

    Oh yea, I’m all over this. yummy yum yum

  2. Erin Says:

    Wow. I don’t think I’ve ever seen soup look so pretty before.


  3. omg, I love the soup but I love the plate even more. LOL


  4. OMG I MADE THIS!! This is awesome!!! i did not use honey, it is sweet enough with the berries!!

Leave a Reply

