Food Friday: Chicken Kebabs

August 1, 2008

Since we are still in the height of cook-out season, I thought I would share my favorite way to prepare grilled chicken.  The yogurt really tenderizes the meat and it does not need to marinate for a long time, ten minutes will work though 30 is probably ideal.  I think the cumin, garlic and yogurt give the meal a strong Greek or Middle Eastern feel so I tend to serve it with lemon rice or pita but I have the recipe for the chickpea salad pictured if you want it.  Enjoy! 

1 cup plain yogurt

2 cloves garlic, finely chopped

1/2 teaspoon ground cumin

Kosher salt and black pepper

1 1/2 pounds boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cut into 1-inch pieces

Combine yogurt, garlic, cumin and salt and pepper to taste (I use 1/2 teaspoon salt and 1/4 teaspoon pepper but that can be a little spicy, so you may want to use less if you like things bland or have little kids)

Thread chicken onto skewers and set them in the yogurt marinade, turning to coat.  Refrigerate at least 10 minutes or overnight.

Remove the chicken from the marinade and cook on a well-oiled grill or grill pan, turning occasionally, until cooked through, about 10 minutes. (when you take it out of the marinade the coating is pretty thick, you are might look at it and think I am a nut job, but trust me… it cooks off perfectly and it is delicious)

NOTE: I counted salt and pepper as one ingredient, I know that is kind of cheating but I really love this recipe and wanted to share it.  Forgive me?

2 Responses to “Food Friday: Chicken Kebabs”


  1. YUMMYYYYYYY actually, you’re not going to believe this but I was just thinking of searching for a chicken Kebabs recipe. I swear. It’s like we’re the same person. LOL

  2. CuriousC Says:

    This sounds really interesting! BTW, I made the carrot and ginger soup – I like it! and I was going to make the ice cream one but Hub talked me out of it. meanie.

Leave a Reply

