Food Friday: Chilled Carrot-Ginger Soup

July 18, 2008

Inspired by my friend Anna, here is one of my favorite five ingredient recipes.  I know the thought of soup this time of year can make you sick, but this one is served cold and is perfect on its own or with a salad for a light and cool dinner. 

 

2 cups water

1 1/2 lb peeled baby carrots

4 tsp minced fresh ginger

1 1/2 cups buttermilk

1/4 tsp salt

1. Bring water to boil in medium saucepan.  Add carrots and ginger; cool, covered, over medium-low heat 25 minutes or until tender; chill in covered saucepan.

2. Puree carrots and liquid in food processor or blender until smooth.  Pour into bowl; stir in buttermilk and salt.  Swirl in a little extra to decorate.

Serves 4. 

 

NOTE: You can use an immersion blender here, but be careful; the carrots can stain anything white.  Enjoy!

5 Responses to “Food Friday: Chilled Carrot-Ginger Soup”

  1. Anna Says:

    Yum! And lovely. I love cold soups and this one sounds wonderful.

    And I had a hard time writing about summer salads today because I like to write whatever is in my head at the time, not what I decided on a week ago. After next week, I’m having everyone pick their own!

  2. thelandofka Says:

    That looks really yummy. I will have to try that!

  3. CuriousC Says:

    Yum. I LOVE cold soups but have never had luck making them. This sounds easy enough to attempt. Soups in fancy restaurants are my favorite lunch – plus they usually have the best bread to go with.

    (I thought you were going to provide 5 recipes knowing your theme.)

  4. elizabethews Says:

    check! dinner idea completed.

    And what wine would go nicely…. oh, yes. White anything. 🙂


  5. I am definitely going to try that! thanks!

Leave a Reply

