A Wonderful Weekend

July 13, 2008

This weekend my three college girl friends and I got together for a little girls weekend. For various reasons, we are only able to all get together about three times a year. which makes it even more special. Here are my five favorite things about the weekend.

1) The laughter -the easy joking, banter and giggles that come from years of friendship.

2) The updates- filling everyone in on what has been going on in our lives in great detail. Asking, and actually caring, about each others spouses, partners, in-laws, out-laws, family and friends.

3) The tears- It has been a tough year for all of us. We have changed jobs, changed addresses, made difficult decisions, ended and begun relationships and dealt with family members in pain. When we look back on what we have been through, and speak about how we have been there for each other, the tears fall easily. Not the emotional outburst that comes from a break up or an argument, but the slow release of emotion that comes like a sigh of relief when you are with people you truly love and trust.

4) The routine- No matter how long we are apart, as soon as we get together, we fall into the same comfortable routine. The same jokes are funny, the same symptoms cause concern, the same wallets are lost, keys are forgotten and we are all running around trying on clothes and asking opinions before we rip off any tags. I don’t know how I buy anything with out these women telling me it looks ok.

5) The confession- For the first time, this weekend I told my friends about my blog. I was not intending to keep it from them, but I think I wanted to give myself time to figure out what I wanted to write about before I started sharing it with some of the most important people in my life. When I first came out and said it, my only hope was that they would not laugh at me. True to form, my girlfriends love and support blew me away. They laughed with me and cried with me as I read some of my favorite posts and when it was all over, they said the one thing I had never dared to hope for. They told me they were proud of me, and they loved hearing what I had to say.

5 Responses to “A Wonderful Weekend”


  1. wow, you definitely have friends worth holding on to forever. They sound equally awesome as you. And I know what you mean about time passing, and then seeing your friends and feeling like you last saw each other yesterday. It’s like a true friendship is timeless. No matter how long it’s been, it’s the same.

  2. Mike Says:

    And what did they think of your work husband?! Miss you. Today’s call? Perfect.

  3. Anna Says:

    We’re proud of you too. You have such a wonderful, original blog. It is a pleasure to read.

  4. Mandy Says:

    Always proud 🙂


  5. […] I piled into D’s yellow Jeep wrangler and made our way to CT to visit our good friend A.  As aforementioned, spending time with these three women is both relaxing and rejuvenating and always full of […]

Leave a Reply

