Working 9 to 5

July 10, 2008

It has been over a week since my bloggy friend La Petite Bella asked, so I thought I would tell you five things about my new job.

1) It is in a pretty active city. In my first week I have been able to locate a great taqueria, a Thai restaurant and a good, albeit greasy, Chinese restaurant. If I can just find sushi, Indian and some sort of buffet… I will be in lunch time heaven.

2) In addition to some really good food, the city houses one of the most beautiful post offices I have ever seen. I know this may seem mundane to most, but there is something about the crisp while marble, polished filigree brass and tall Grecian columns that fill old municipal buildings that I adore. I have visited the post office almost every day since I began, taking note to buy a stamp or two so they do not think I staking the place out for some sort of heist.

3) The building I am working in houses some pretty major and very valuable artifacts, so the security is quite serious. This means that in order for me to go from my office to the nearest restroom, I need to pass through not one, not two, but THREE, ID access security check points. If you do not swipe your magic badge the door does not stay locked (that would be WAY too easy). Rather, it opens and that starts an alarm that sounds like a cross between a fire engine and a dying hyena. I have set off at least one alarm almost every day since my arrival. Today, my VP kindly sat me down and said that while she understands there is a difficult learning curve, I am starting to upset the visitors.

4) Because of the change in size from my last museum (smaller) and the change in my title (bigger), in my new position I am spending a lot more time with upper management. I am starting to discover that perhaps, there was a reason why I did not have as much ‘face time’ with VP’s and presidents at my last museum as I, apparently, turn into a bumbling idiot. Yesterday, I heard myself joking with our CEO about the difference between the two paint colors peach melba and orange chiffon. If as you are reading this you are thinking ” wow, that’s not at all funny”. its because IT’S NOT FUNNY! I could not tell if he gave me a courtesy laugh or was choking on paint fumes.

5) Due to the necessary security measures, on most days the museum shuts its doors at 5:00. That means that all employees must be on the outside of the doors by exactly 5:00. Meaning, on these days I have to start shutting down my computer and packing my bag around 4:45. Coming from a cooperate culture where the majority works past five, some well passed seven and a crazy few come back after dinner to get work done, leaving the office BEFORE 5:00 feels like spring break! I just have to make sure I remember to use my magic security badge on the way out.

7 Responses to “Working 9 to 5”

  1. Mike Says:

    I don’t care about the post office or the thai restaurant…I just still miss you. that’s all.

  2. Molly Says:

    So many things to address!

    1. You will never top the Chinese buffet. I don’t care what you say.

    2. Stop upsetting the visitors. Jeesh.

    3. One of your greatest traits is that you can talk to ANYONE and make them feel comfortable. I bet you’re only a bumbling idiot in your own head.

    4. Hahaha you have to be out at 5! Does that mean you don’t have time to pick lilacs in the morning anymore?

    Miss your face πŸ™‚


  3. that sounds awesome! I love how you always find something positive in everything, it sounds like you’re a happy and positive person and that’s why I love to read your blog, because even in the tough things you always find something good πŸ™‚


  4. AWESOME! Shocking people actually leave work at 5pm? Really I thought that was just on TV! Well you are missed! I am glad to hear things are going well!!

  5. Anna Says:

    That whole post makes me miss you here! And wow, what a different culture. WOW. Unlike our offices, which have open windows and unlocked doors all the time.

    I think peach melba and orange chiffon both sound funny! πŸ™‚

  6. Erin Says:

    OMG this cracked me up! Peach melba and orange chiffon.. I wish I could have been a fly on the wall. (And btw, you are the complete opposite of a bumbling idiot.)


  7. […] Visit the Seattle Public Library: I have already admitted I am a sucker for municipal buildings but the Seattle Public Library is not your usual granite and marble kind of space.Β  It was designed […]

Leave a Reply

