The kindness of friends and strangers

July 1, 2008

I am a sucker for any movie with Hugh Grant, but one of my all time favorites is Love Actually. In addition to some pretty funny (some smart, and some not so smart) scenes, the premise of the movie is that love, is actually, all around us. Here are the five people who have reminded me that like love, kindness surrounds us every day.

1) The friends who called, text or e-mailed me this morning to let me know that they were thinking of me on my first day at a new job and were sending good vibes my way. I had forgotten how hard it is to be the new kid, and they reminded me that even though I am in a new space, I am not alone.

2) The friend who sent me flowers today to welcome to me to my new office and make me feel at home. If you have ever been called to the admin desk and arrived to see a bouquet of fresh smiling gerber daisy’s, delicate queen Anne’s lace, and sweet roses, you know the feeling can not be re-created. It literally brought tears to my eyes (and in fact, forced me to pretend to have to get something out of my car so I would not be busted crying on my first day).

3) The two men that took pity on me attempting to haul my over sized, over stuffed suitcase up and down the ferry steps on Sunday night. I am seldom impressed by the actions of strangers, but these two men were class acts. I felt compelled to hug them, but instead just thanked them profusely until they became embarrassed and ran away.

4) The friend who stayed at my house this weekend. In addition to a chilled bottle of champagne, she left a complete meal waiting in my refrigerator, so I would not have to cook after my first day at work. I don’t know if this is something she has done before, but it was by far one of the most perfect gifts she could have given me and I hope some day I am able to do it for someone else.

5) All of you. The friends, acquaintances and readers who have passed along their good wishes and their condolences through comments on my blog or via e-mail. Thank you for letting me vent over unwanted kids at a party or share my horror at the thought of my brother, as a pall bearer, carrying the weight of his friend and his own grief on his shoulders. You have helped me more than you know.

7 Responses to “The kindness of friends and strangers”


  1. OMG!! how was the first day!! I cannot wait to hear all about it!! Your lamp loves its new home!! I will have to post a picture! ❤ Hallie

  2. Mike Says:

    Damn, why didn’t I think of the flowers thing?

  3. elizabethews Says:

    I hope someone leaves me champagne and a meal when they stay in my house. that is so very thoughtful and wonderful.

    I hope day 2 is as wonderful and exciting as day 1!!!

  4. Erin Says:

    Hope you’re settling in well in New Bedford – we miss you. And, the scene in Love Actually when Emma Thompson realizes her husband is cheating, yet holds herself together to give her family a good Christmas – kills me every time.

  5. CuriousC Says:

    wow – very cool. Happy New Job! (did they take you out to lunch? one of my pet peeves is when bosses don’t at least ASK to take new employee out to lunch… I think I’ve had too many jobs? ha)

  6. Jennie Says:

    I say “just in cases” all of the time from that movie. LOVE it. I could literally watch it every day and not get tired of it. It makes me sad that for security reasons at the airport we can’t greet loved ones at the gate any longer – I get chills every time at the beginning and end of that movie.

    I’m glad you are surrounded by such loving people! I imagine it’s not hard to love you, though.


  7. awww I can’t wait to hear about your new job! tell me tell me!

Leave a Reply

