It’s my party and I will cry if I want to

June 23, 2008

Ok, so it is not really MY party.  But I (and someone who shall remain nameless) are planing a retirement party for my mother.  It is by no means an overly difficult task, but here are the five people are making it far from simple.

1) My co-planner –  She is great.  Really, she is.  However, she seems to have trouble remembering that in addition to living two states away from the party location I have a FULL TIME JOB.  And, that job does not include party planning.  I don’t really have time to discuss every minute detail of the invitation ribbon, the font size or if the forever stamps are just too ugly to use on a festive occasion.  In addition, after my day of full time work, I don’t really want to spend an average of 45 minutes discussing why it is that people no longer RSVP and have no sense of decorum. Which brings me to #2….

2) People who do not RSVP – I don’t know what it is about picking up the phone or jotting a quick e-mail that is so unbearably difficult, but if you are invited to an open bar, four course, sit down dinner, the least you can do is pick up the phone and say, “sure, we would love to come” or “actually, we have better things to do”.  The only thing worse than #2, is #3….

3) People who RSVP with more guests than were invited – I am sure that your child is the best behaved child in the whole wide world. And yes, I am sure that the 53 other guests of the event would be just CRUSHED if you little angelic looking demon spawn were not in attendance.  However, if you will take a moment to consult the envelope, the hosts or general common sense it might occur to you that your child was NOT invited to this adults only event.  We do however, appreciate your self centered ridiculousness, out right sense of entitlement and basic hissy fit since it has given me something other than the needy nature of my co-planner to be ticked about.

4) The loudmouth – the one who felt the need to call a mutual friend to find out what they were wearing to the party only to discover that they were not invited to the party and then send me an e-mail saying ” oops, sorry I goofed, but you are going to need to do something about this”.  Why, WHY do I need to do something about this?  I did not call her to consult on the type of hose to wear with a beige dress?  I did not need positive re-enforcement on the choice of my footwear for a given occasion.  I actually manage to keep my mouth shut when invited to an event that others may or may not have been included in.  We now have 54 people attending a party only 50 were invited to.  Classic.

5) My brother- now, I love my brother.  As far as siblings go, we are pretty close.  But every once in a blue moon I seriously wish he had been born a girl and I had a lovely party literate sister.  Here is a typical conversation between me and brother.

ME: so, are you bringing your girlfriend to the mom’s party or not?

BROTHER: mom already had a party.

ME: No, that was her work party.  This is a family & friends party.

BROTHER: oh.

ME: so, are you bringing your girlfriend?

BROTHER: I don’t know.  Why?

ME: I need a count for the tables.

BROTHER: Why?

ME: So I can figure out how many we need and order the centerpieces.

BROTHER: Why do we need centerpieces?

ME: So there is something on the table.

BROTHER: Sa, isn’t there going to be food on the table?

10 Responses to “It’s my party and I will cry if I want to”

  1. Mike Says:

    I think I’ve determined the best thing about this blog. It might as well be an audio blog because, holy crap, i can hear you saying every line. And i love it.

  2. elizabethews Says:

    HA!! There’s going to be food on the table!! I LOVE it.

    Oh, I’ll be there. Me + 4 or 5 of my closest friends. And I’m wearing beige. With no hose. Is that tacky?

    And fully agree with Mike. I can hear every word of this.

  3. Jennie Says:

    Someone told me once they didn’t know what RSVP meant. They thought the only time you should respond is if you couldn’t come. So maybe people really don’t know RSVP means to call/email either way? I can’t imagine. I get so angry when people don’t RSVP, but like you said, it’s even worse when they bring extra or talk to people that weren’t invited about the party! Arrgh! I’ll never understand why some people aren’t born with common sense. Hope the party goes well.


  4. I agree with Mike. I can hear you say it all! Haha…i hope the party goes well…


  5. Ok, don’t say I didn’t warn you, because I’m about to go into a tirade about rude people that don’t RSVP. It seriously upsets me. What really gets me, is that when I invite someone, they are typically people that respect social norms, they are people that supposedly had manners, but nope! why RSVP? WHO HAS TIME FOR THAT? I considered writing in my invitations “you will be given an entry code when you RSVP. Entry codes will only be given if you do not fail to RSVP by the date provided. All others will be taken off the list.” but I’m sure I would lose friends. Oh, and your brother sounds like a guy’s guy- typical male response! priceless! 🙂

  6. Anna Says:

    I agree, your voice just comes right through. And you are on a roll, sister, it just gets better and better with each post. Wooot!

  7. Anna Says:

    And can I bring my kids? They don’t spill cake THAT often!

  8. CuriousC Says:

    I’m sorry I’m laughing at your frustration but it’s quite funny and oh so sad but true – abt the RSVP thing. When someone asked me if kids were invited to a party, I told them I reserved the right to lock them in a closet.

    Happy Retirement Congrats to Mom!

  9. Molly Says:

    I am so worried about the RSVP thing for the wedding. Seriously. And your brother is hilarious. FOOD on the table!


  10. […] mom, it is just a few thousand people who have no idea who you are but know that planning your retirement party almost put me in the loony […]

Leave a Reply

