“I had a bad day again, she said I would not understand”

June 20, 2008

Today was a tough day. Not necessarily a bad one, but a toughie. It was not my last day at my job, but it was the day of my goodbye party and the last time I would see some extremely special people and it was hard. It got me thinking about former tough days and where this one ranked and so, I thought I would share my top five list of tough days* (in chronological order)

1)Loosing the cross country county championship in 10th grade. – We were favored to win and I ran my heart out (breaking my own personal record). It was our captain’s last year and I adored her. Even at 16 I genuinely wanted the victory for her more than for myself and when it came down to a tie breaker, I felt like I let her down. If I had passed one more person, if any of us had passed one more person, we would have had it. It was the day I discovered that sometimes doing your best just is not good enough and that sometimes, like victory, failure is a group effort.

2)The day I found out my high school boyfriend had cheated on me – I know, this one should have been a no brainer. He was a year older than me and already at college. To be perfectly honest he was out of my league to begin with. But, he genuinely seemed to adore me and I genuinely seemed to believe him. It was the day I discovered that just because someone tells you they love you, does not mean they won’t hurt you and we don’t all live happily ever after with the captain of the lacrosse team. It was my first heart break and somewhere, beneath the marks from my sports bra and deep under my rib cage, I know there is a little scar.

3) The afternoon my parents came up to New England to tell my brother and I my dad had cancer – As fate would have it, my brother got into his first choice college where I happened to be going to graduate school and we were living about 20 minutes from each other. My parents told us they wanted to come up to take us out to brunch to celebrate some birthdays. When they walked in I could see that my mom had been crying. My dad sat at my round kitchen table on one of those chairs that swivels around, looked me in the eye and said, “your dads sick kiddo”. It was the worst combination of seemingly innocent words I had ever heard and it was the day I discovered my father was human, fragile and mortal.

4) The day my brother got into some trouble I could not get him out of – The details of this story are my brothers to tell, not mine, but it was serious trouble. It was the day I discovered that just because I had four years on him, did not mean I could protect him forever, and that you can’t wish someones pain away.

5) Moving my best friend out of her house prior to her divorce – We sat in a room going through pictures and piles and shoving 6 years of her life into whatever boxes and bags we could find. I had been there when they met, the day they got engaged and stood beside her when they took their vows. I felt like I could have, I should have, done more. It was the day I discovered that love is not always enough, but some days, friendship is.

So, where does today rank on my list? I don’t know yet. I know that there are times in your life when you know something has changed and even if it has changed for the better, you can never go back. Today was one of those days.

As a side note: As I have stated numerous times before, I am not a writer. I am more of a venter or an observer. But today, while driving home crying, listening to sappy love songs on 105.1, I had the urge to go home, sit at the computer and write about what I was feeling. It was the first time I wanted to use this blog as an outlet rather than as a sounding board and that felt good. So, maybe it was not such a bad day after all.

*Note- death of friends and family were intentionally left off of this list. As anyone who has lost someone they love can tell you, the experience is no where near a ‘bad’ day.

9 Responses to ““I had a bad day again, she said I would not understand””


  1. hey! I just emailed you. I hope you’re doing better after writing it all down. About your brother, the stories I could tell you about mine! I have a younger brother, and he’s been through some tough things too. I wish I could save him, but I’ve come to the realization that once one becomes an adult, there’s so much one can do for another. It’s heartbreaking and awful to see people we love go through difficult things. I hope your days get better, and call me anytime you wanna chat!

  2. Mike Says:

    So the thing is this, this post is brilliant. What you did was write for you — which you wanted. But, you connected with us. That’s what makes this great.

  3. fritz Says:

    Fair Winds Lady!!!
    that was a great post! and i am sure a bit theraputic for ya. I am thinking of ya!

  4. CuriousC Says:

    Excellent writing indeed. and you have the ability to share so much, and with some lightness thrown in, too (“we don’t all live happily ever after with the captain of the lacrosse team. It was my first heart break and somewhere, beneath the marks from my sports bra and deep under my rib cage, I know there is a little scar.”)

    I’m glad you’ve caught the blogging bug.

  5. Molly Says:

    I actually disagree — these words, Sara — these are words of a writer.

    Enjoy your last day, hunnie!

  6. Jennie Says:

    I can’t even tell you how many chills I got while reading this post.

    Your dad’s sick kiddo?

    Okay, that brought more tears than chills.

    Wow. Thanks for sharing.


  7. “you are my sunshine” I know today was a tough day. I know you will do well! But you will always be my battle buddy!!

  8. Anna Says:

    This is definitely the work of a writer. We will miss you!


  9. […] truth is; I had no interest in meeting you.  My heart was heavy with worry for my father and quite frankly…I did not want to meet anyone.  Our friends dragged me out that night and […]

Leave a Reply

