Moving on Reluctantly

June 13, 2008

As I am sure many of you are picking up on, I am making a pretty big tansiton in my life and movinng on to a new job.  Here are the five things I will miss most about my old job.

1) The people – As Hallie so eloquently said, my battle buddies.  The friends who have allowed me to vent to them and trusted me enough to vent back.  The strangers who became colleagues and the colleagues who became friends.  The knowing glances, the sly winks, the walks and the talks.  I will miss these people more than I can say.

2) The food- as fate would have it, my current place of employment is withing striking distance of some of the best food in New England.  Any day I can pick between, Japanese, Mexican, Chinese, Thai, Indian, a fish place, a salad place, a gourmet grocer and more than one all you can eat buffet (I am a sucker for the all you can eat buffet).  There is a bakery, an ice cream shop, three Dunkin Donuts, a starbucks and two really cute mom and pop coffee and tea shops.  It really is no wonder I had to start running to get back into my summer clothes.

3) The view – my office currently overlooks an open green space set in front of a cool blue river, dotted with the curved hulls of boats, ships and schooners and lined with the graceful grid of rigging in the sky.  It is a photographers dream, a vacationers wish and by far the most beautiful place I have ever been paid to go.  It’s truly spectacular.

4) The mission – I genuinely believe in what I do and where I work.  I believe in the mission and the vision and the goals (even if some days I might choose a different path to get there).  I believe in the product we give to the people we serve and I believe in the message we deliver.

5) The people- I know I started with this one but its worth saying again.  Yesterday I had one of those moments where you step outside yourself and look as an outsider on the very life you are living.  I was sitting at a desk laughing with a  friend when my work husband happened to pop by.  We talked and we joked and we laughed and I looked around knowing that that very moment would be the one thing I would miss the most.  The casual nature of true friendship and the easy happenstance that comes from working with people you genuinely care about.  It has been a gift and is something I will truly cherish.

3 Responses to “Moving on Reluctantly”

  1. Mike Says:

    And yet not one official mention of your work husband in this one?! Hmmmm. 😉

    As you said yesterday, it was the trifecta, that little moment.

    You are doing the right thing. You know it. We know it. It won’t be easy, but it’s right. And right things are not always easy.

  2. Molly Says:

    Now I want chinese buffet. We’re going to have to make a special trip back one day for that.


  3. i think you know you’re doing the right thing, and you’ll be ok. it’s sad to look back and remember the things we’re leaving behind, but you’ll have many more new things to look forward to!

Leave a Reply

