Mike’s got something….

June 11, 2008

In honor of my work husband, who managed to make me cry today, here are my five very favorite things about Mike

1) He gives the best hugs. They are the kind of hugs you would expect for your father, get from your brother and want from your partner. They are hugs that make good days better and bad days do-able

2) He gets my obsession with song lyrics and appreciates my borderline freakish skill of memorizing them.  This is not a skill that gets noted by many people.

3) Even though he jokes about me being his ‘work wife’, he is one of the most kind and devoted husbands I have ever met.  When he talks about his real wife, his face lights up and you know that he is thinking he is the luckiest man in the world.

4) He is an amazing dad.  He is one of those dads that makes you believe you can actually succeed at being a parent and not perpetuate the long line of idiosyncrasies that may run in your family.  He makes me believe that even I could be a good mom some day. 

5) He is a great listener and genuinely knows what to say to make you feel better.  He has been there for me through tough days, bad news and hard decisions and never once let me down.  In fact, he gives pretty good hugs.  (see #1)

6 Responses to “Mike’s got something….”


  1. awwwww. how can i get me one of those, work husbands??? he sounds like an awesome guy!

  2. fritz Says:

    it is so sad to hear you are moving on! but congrats! and i am sure the hugs will not be in short supply before you leave! take care!

  3. Molly Says:

    Amen, sister.

  4. elizabethews Says:

    I fully agree. 100%.


  5. […] 13, 2008 Many of you may remember Mike one of my earlier posts.  He is a great husband, a great dad and a great friend and very nicely […]

Leave a Reply

