The Sprung Spring

May 20, 2008

With Memorial Day right around the corner and summer quickly approaching, here are my five favorite things about spring.

The smell of lilacs, although I am more than slightly allergic, I can get enough of it. I have been known to be late for things because I am in the garden picking lilacs at 7:00 in the morning. Molly can attest to it.

The color green – the deep green of maples and grey-green of evergreens, the tender green of grass and the radiant green of tulip leaves. My eyes ache for green all winter

The feel of soft newborn grass under my freshly bare feet as the first warm breeze whips through my toes. A sensation that cannot be re-created

The taste of food the first time it comes off the grill for the season; grilled veggies, grilled chicken, grilled burgers, grilled polenta, grilled fish…. I am an equal opportunity griller.

The sound of children laughing outside my open office window. I am no anthropologist but the game of tag seems to transcend age, race, gender and religion…. Perhaps the UN should take it into consideration at their next meeting.*

* – if nothing else, this is a great visual, imagine Bush running around after Prime Minister Gordon Brown yelling “I’m gonna getcha”. classic.

4 Responses to “The Sprung Spring”

  1. Mike Says:

    Spring is my favorite time. Screw fall. I love spring.

  2. Molly Says:

    As long as I live, I will never forget you looking up at my all innocent and apologizing for being late with a “Sorry, I was picking lilacs.”

  3. elizabethews Says:

    Oh, lilacs. I do love them too. The dark purple ones are ready for picking!

  4. Anna Says:

    Such a sweet image, the tag and all. I like the UN idea!

Leave a Reply

